Love-struck

Last night I thought about today

and about the months now far away,

I thought about time lost

and the value of its high cost.

 

I thought about you and I thought about me

I thought about us and of where we could be,

I thought about the magic you made me feel

and how your smile proved to be my shield.

 

I thought about the first time you called

and how high my heart was walled.

I thought about the goodbyes and how we always stalled,

I thought about your spirit and how in my heart is crawled.

 

I thought about the beach, how you held my hand

and how you would shout when I thrust your hair full of sand,

I thought about the long walks and how we would just stand,

because that moment was worth savouring, it was just too grand.

 

I thought about the little, useless, senseless things we talked,

and how those senseless things made it worth the long walk

For those senseless things are the ones I keep stocked,

for those senseless things got me Love-struck.

 

Those were the times, the good old times

where there were no fights, no doubts, no whines,

but what would the world be like if all we did was smile,

creatures of other planets would chuckle and point and say, “Damn those idiots are high.”

 

I thought, I prayed, I asked, “God why does it hurt to love this boy?”

He said, “Don’t worry my angel, all things end in joy,

for even the valiant Aeneas’ heart was tested on the broad plains of Troy,

So live and love today for the world I promised, the one with the narrow gate – this one I will destroy.”

 

No matter what I want, God’s will, it remains

If He chooses us to part I’ll walk away in pain,

Maybe we’ll meet in the promised land where it never rains,

But if He wills for us to love and find shelter in our embrace,

I will sing to the heavens and glorify His reign.

© Jennilee Peremore

Leave a comment